The Trews – Hope & Ruin…album review!

Posted: 24th April 2011 by refrainmusic in Albums

Hope & Ruin - The Trews

One thing is for sure with this new album, someone had just gotten ‘hurt’ before they sat down to write the songs on The Trews fourth studio album…”Hope & Ruin”.  There is obvious angst right from the get go on this album with the first song “Misery Loves Company” that talks about the control that the women described in the song has over the singer.  There is a sort of ‘indie’ feel on this album that comes from most Trews albums but this one also has a polished feel hidden subtlely under the raunchy guitars and outstanding harmonies.  The album is definitely written around the theme of heartache and love lost in being shot down, “One by One”, the pleading to hang on, “Stay With Me”, and the feelings of losing and moving on, “If You Want To Start Again”.   There are some great harmonies on “Love Is A Real Thing” and has the sound that we have come to recognize Trews music for.

Hope & Ruin - The Trews

This is a solid rock rendering from The Trews, with some bluesy undertones, some intelligent lyrics and some awesome harmonies.   This little band from Antigonish, Nova Scotia (now based in Toronto) have a great album on their hands here with solid songs from beginning to end.  The first single off the album is the title track, “Hope & Ruin” and like the album art, a broken heart behind shattered glass…it paints the picture of what this album is all about, love, loss, and dreaming of recovery.

 01. Misery Loves Company
02. One By One
03. People Of The Deer
04. Stay With Me
05. Hope & Ruin
06. If You Wanna Start Again
07. The World, I Know
08. Dreaming Man
09. Ill Find Someone Who Will
10. Love Is The Real Thing
11. Burned
12. You Gotta Let Me In

3.5 / 5