The Keats – Good To Be Home

Posted: 14th December 2009 by refrainmusic in Albums

The Keats - Good To Be Home CD

Born in the kitchen party’s of Gambo, Newfoundland – Canada, The Keats, two twin sisters, began learning how to make your foot stomp in good surroundings. They prove they learned the lesson well with their debut CD, “Good To Be Home” a six song EP of catchy tunes reminiscent of The Dixie Chicks. The CD starts us off with probably this writers favorite song on the CD, in “We Can Fly” a tale of a special someone that isn’t there right now but is on their way and when they arrive everything will take off. Following this up is a ‘toe-tapper’ of a song called “Give Me a Ring” that mixes great harmonies with some great fiddle and mandolin playing by the girls as they tell that boy that to capture their heart he better bring them a ring! Incidentally this song has now been made into a video. The song for which the album get’s it’s name, “Good To Be Home” is a somber look at how the heart aches for home and how we don’t realize how a place can be missed until you can come home…and now is nominated for an East Coast Music Award for Country Recording of The Year! Followed by three more great songs that will have you tapping your toes, clapping your hands, and once you know the words, singing along this debut cd will introduce you to The Keats and leave you wanting more.
The Keats sisters
The Keats: Jolene Keats (vocals, keyboard, guitar, mandolin)
Sharlene Keats (vocals, fiddle, keyboard, guitar)

1. We Can Fly – C. Burke-Gaffney/R.Booth
2. Give Me A Ring – J. Keats/S. Keats/C. Burke-Gaffney/J. Johnson
3. Good To Be Home – J.Keats/S. Keats/C. Burke-Gaffney/A. Chaturvedi
4. Bring On The Next Town – J. Keats/S. Keats/K. Loveless
5. Human Race – C. Burke-Gaffney/A. Powers
6. Bigger Plan – J. Keats/S. Keats/C. Burke-Gaffney/K. MacPherson

Rating: 3.5 / 5